Tennessee Affiliate Broker Pre-Licensing TN Real Estate License FAQs

Every Question You Need Answered to Get Your Real Estate License in Tennessee

We're here to help answer any questions you have about getting started in the real estate industry. Getting your real estate license in Tennessee is a big step, so to help we've collected and answered some frequently asked questions below.

Buy your Tennessee Pre-Licensing »

How do I get a Tennessee real estate license?

  • Complete 90 hours of Pre-Licensing education (60 hours of coursework must be taken before the state licensing exam and a 30-hour course must be completed after the exam)
  • Schedule, take, and pass the Tennessee Affiliate Broker Licensing Examination with PSI Testing services
  • Take the 30-hour Course For New Affiliates
  • Submit a New Tennessee Affiliate Broker License Application with fees and required documentation
  • Choose a sponsoring broker to go through the licensing process
  • For more information on the licensing process, click here

How long does it take to get a Tennessee real estate license?

The amount of time it takes to get a Tennessee real estate license depends on many factors. Pre-Licensing coursework, electronic fingerprint submission, licensing examination, and application submission and processing are the primary steps in obtaining an affiliate broker license. For more information on the licensing process, click here.

How much does it cost to get a Tennessee real estate license?

There are a number of costs associated with getting your Tennessee affiliate broker license. Fixed costs will include the application fee of $91, license examination fee of $39, and a fingerprint processing fee. Varied costs include Pre-Licensing education tuition and fees, and will depend on the education provider you choose.

Note: These costs are subject to be changed by the state at any time.

What are the ongoing education requirements after I get my Tennessee real estate license?

During each active license renewal period, each affiliate broker must complete 16 hours of Continuing Education (CE), 10 of which are electives and 6 of which are mandatory TREC Core. All CE must be completed on or before the license expiration.

How can I verify a Tennessee real estate license?

The Tennessee Department of Commerce & Insurance has a License Search and Verification.

Can I get a Tennessee real estate license online?

Tennessee residents can receive their real estate Pre-Licensing education online at any school approved by the Tennessee Real Estate Commission.

Can a felon get a Tennessee real estate license?

Individuals with a felony may apply and be considered for real estate licensure in Tennessee. During the application process, the candidate's criminal history will be reviewed by the Tennessee Real Estate Commission.

Do you need to have a diploma or GED to get your Tennessee real estate license?

In order to become a licensed real estate agent in Tennessee, candidates must have at least a high school diploma or GED.

How old do you have to be to get your Tennessee real estate license?

To become a real estate agent in Tennessee, applicants must be at least 18 years of age.

What is the average salary for a Tennessee real estate agent?

It's hard to determine an "average salary" in Tennessee real estate. Variables include the brokerage under which the agent is employed, their work ethic, and the number of years of experience. It is not uncommon for full-time, motivated agents to make over $100k a year.

Where do I take the Tennessee real estate license exam?

Real estate exams are administered by PSI in Tennessee. Visit the PSI website to learn more about the testing process in Tennessee.

What courses are required for a Tennessee real estate license?

Tennessee students must enroll in a single 90-hr. package to complete their Pre-Licensing coursework. One of the courses is the 60-Hr. Basic Principles of Real Estate course, and the other is the 30-Hr. Tennessee Course For New Affiliates course.

Does Tennessee have real estate license reciprocity with any other states?

Tennessee does not have a reciprocity licensing agreement with any other states. However, there are ways to have the education portion waived in the licensing process by presenting your work history and license type to the Tennessee Real Estate Commission. Out-of-state residents are encouraged to contact the commission for personalized questions to begin the licensing process.

For more information about how reciprocity works and which states offer it nationwide, visit our Guide to Reciprocity and Portability.
 

Intuitive Design Customized for You

When it comes to learning, we have you covered. Our streamlined design makes it easy to navigate and complete your courses on time. You shouldn’t have to struggle when it comes to getting your real estate education.

Take Our Course Tour »
Screenshot of a The CE Shop course in LEAP

Read More About Getting Started

The Ultimate Guide to Becoming a Real Estate Agent

Download the Free Ebook Now »